Pushkareva and Ceban crowned in Tarbes


Mark Ceban (GBR) succeeds Thijs Boogaard (NED) by winning the tournament in the boys category. He easily defeated Daniel Jade, the first Lebanese in the final, 6-3, 6-2 in less than an hour of play.

My goal this year was to see what I could do, I trained a lot beforehand, and I wanted to do well. I wasn’t sure I could win, but I wanted to go as far as possible.

As a reminder, his adventure had stopped in the 2nd round of the main draw in the previous edition. He succeeds the one and only British winner Matthew Smith, who won the tournament in 1998.

Anna Pushkareva succeeds Julia Stusek (GER) and wins the tournament in the girls’ category by defeating the Romanian Giulia Safina Popa (ROU), seeded number 2. This confrontation is a recurrent one on the junior circuit (2 wins to 1 for Pushkareva). The match turned once again to the advantage of Pushkareva. More focused than Popa at the beginning of the final, she won the first set 7-5 and then unrolled in the second set 6-1.

In the boys’ competition, Frenchman Moïse Kouamé won the doubles match with Svit Suljic (SLO) against the Czech pair Tomas Krejci/Jakub Kusy 6-7, (6) 6-4, 10-3.

We would like to thank all the participants and their teams, the referees, the volunteers and finally the spectators who came in large numbers for this new edition. We wish a good year 2023 to all of you and we hope to see you in January 2024 for the 42nd edition of the Lacoste World Championship!